Home Page:

Statement of Purpose

Building a network around using history of mathematics to promote equality, diversity and inclusion in the mathematics curriculum in UK HE.

By speaking to both mathematics students and staff across the UK, the Network hopes to tackle the following research questions:

  • In what ways are current HE maths curricula experienced as exclusive?
  • What examples are there of using history to make the curriculum more inclusive?
  • What support do practitioners need in using history to diversify the curriculum?
  • How is the effectiveness of such initiatives best evaluated?

Activities of the Network:

  • In person focus groups for both students and staff across the UK.
  • Online workshops.
  • Setting up information hubs.
  • We are in the process of creating a literature review that will be accessible to mathematicians interested in promoting EDI principles in their lectures.
  • We will develop evaluation principles.

We have also recently established a JISCmail list which are using to update members of the Network about our upcoming events and to promote discussion between members of the Network about using the history of maths to tackle EDI issues within the mathematics curriculum. If you would like to sign up JISCmail list, please click the link below:


Examples of use of history in promoting EDI principles:

  • Provision of role models.
  • Use of historical examples to provide a culturally-level playing field in class.
  • Sensitising staff to cultural specificity of current mathematical practises.
  • Leveraging precedents from non-European cultures.

Contact details:

If you would like to get in touch with the Network, our email address is mathshist4edi@st-andrews.ac.uk

The Network is supported by the following institutions:

  • The University of St. Andrews
  • The Open University
  • The University of Oxford

Core Members:

  • Dr Isobel Falcolner – The University of St. Andrews
  • Dr Brigitte Stenhouse – The Open University
  • Dr Christopher Hollings – The University of Oxford
  • Dr Deborah Kent – The University of St. Andrews
  • Prof June Barrow-Green – The Open University


The Network is being supported by the Isaac Newton Institute and the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council [Ref:  EP/V521929/1].